Modelling

So I have decided to go ahead and model the Base Geo.  They are all different characters, however they do have the same time of Geometry.

I had never used Zbrush previous to this so I was a bit scared or cautious of going into it.I followed the following tutorial on Digital Tutors to make myself familiar with the userface.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 17.31.11.png

I sculpted the basic shape in Maya using Andrews drawings as my reference. As you can see from the images, I only modelled the first half of the body and then I duplicated special it over merged the vertixes and ended up with one piece of Geo, as you can see below.

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 17.58.43.png

I then exported it as an OBJ and then brought it into Zbrush. From there I was able to use Dynamesh to get my main body and after wards I was then going to go in and add in the detail.

The below image is of my model with a lot of polyfaces on it, but by using ZRemesher, i was able to then keep the structure of my Geo, but able to bring my polycount way down!

Bobby Strain then told me about a great piece of software called Headus, which allows you to bring in your model and easily unwrap it in that software, with the software doing most of the work for you.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 17.31.22.png

So all you have to do is export your low poly model as an OBJ and then import it into Headus, split up the model into sections, choosing where your seams will be and then unwrapping it.

I then exported again then as another OBJ, and i imported it into Maya just to make sure that the UV layout worked and it did, as you can see from the screenshot below.Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 10.42.52.png

I was then able to bring it back into Zbrush and turn up the subdivision levels and add in the fine detail, such as a slight bump map for the cotton texture.

Using GOZ, i was easily able to send the low poly mesh back into maya, but in doing so, I automatically transferred over my Normal and displacement map, which was projected onto the model to show of the high detail.

 

 

Dexter

My next process was modelling the Onezie design for Dexter.  We know that we will have 6 characters and one of them will be Dexter, so I was able to go ahead and begin modelling his base.  Using Andrews concept art, i was able to cearte the base mesh in maya again.  This seems to be a process which I enjoy and find useful.Screen Shot 2016-02-13 at 11.28.54.png

I then took the model in Zbrush and again began to add the detail.  I enjoy Zbrush as it allows you to get great detail on your model, however keep it at a very low polycount.

Next step was to bring the low poly OBJ into Headus and unwrap it from there.  And as you can see from the screenshot below, I was then able to bring it back into Maya with a nice UV layout easy and ready to be textured.

 

Leave a Reply

