Benji

We then split the characters up between myself, Lauren and Cricky.

Paul: Benji, Monkey Twins

Lauren: Octopus and Owl

Cricky: Dexter and Bee.

Over the weekend, I got to work on Benji.  I really enjoyed working on him as he will be our main character throughout the piece.

This is the image that I was working from.

The first thing that I created was his ears.

To do this, I just used the sculpting tools which are available in Maya.  I just pushing and pulled at the vertices until I felt that i had got it right and that I had enough depth within the Geo also.

I then just began to work my way down the model, extracting from the base Geo or else just adding new piece of Geo.

This was the final result.  I think that he looks class, however we need to talk about the size and position of the dickybow when we are next in class.  He is also fully unwrapped.  I will bring this into the guys on Monday and get some feedback and make the changes which they want to.

Since the base Geo had to be redone, then Benji had to go and be redone.  The more i look at the Benji which I had done before, then I dont think that it looks like Benji atal.

So I went back to the basic’s and just started over again.

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 16.21.12.png

From these designs (Anthony’s original drawings), there is pieces of fair coming out of his body.  I give that a go and I let the guys no, but we agreed that it didnt work.  It made it look more like a halloween custome rather than a onezie.

And this is the final model, approved by the group.

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 11.32.31

Bump Map

One thing we talked about as a group was having a slight bump map on the character.  A real onesie is made out of cotton and has a slight texture to it.  I done a test in Zbrush to get the bump map, however I dont think that it works that well.

There is hardly an difference and since we are looking to do such a low intensity anyway, it might be better off not having it.

Unwrapping

I have never wrapped myself before, so I thought i would give it a go with Benji.  Thanks to the amazing piece of software ‘Headus’, I was able to quickly and easy unwrap my character.

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 09.19.00.png

By using Headus, i was able to export my different piece’s of Geo, 4export them as OBJ’s in Maya and import that it headus and then unwrap it, bring it back into Maya and maybe just touch a few things up.

Leave a Reply

