Visual’s

So this is our first visual.  To me, it doesn’t actually look like the character belongs in this world, but that is because he doesn’t.  His real world is the animation at the beginning on the piece.  This is his fantasy magical world.  So therefore, he shouldn’t look like he fits in.

This is Andrew’s scene and he will be changing the position of the bed as he see’s fit.  I just placed it and the character in (in a T-Pose) to get a better feel for what it will look like.

To do this I done the usual, cut the scene up into layers in Maya, rendered out all of the layers and then composited it together in nuke.  On top of the ‘magical world’ I had already created.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 15.13.31.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-29 at 15.24.32.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-29 at 15.55.58.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-29 at 16.12.26.png12890979_10155233405007925_7650759455809145856_o.jpg

New Comp

A lot has changed since this composite was done, and let’s be honest, this looks terrible!!!  Animation has begun in this scene, so what I have done, is I have taken a single frame from this scene (Andrew is animating it).  He has positioned the bed a lot closer and also the lighting has been fixed in this scene.  So I went through the same process as I usally do and began to composite this scene together.

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 16.59.57.png

First thing I had to do was I had to reapply all of the textures.

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 17.44.03.png

Next up was splitting the scene up into all of my render layers.  As per usual I have my

  • Colour Pass
  • AO Character
  • AO Ground
  • Shadow Ground
  • Shadow Character
  • Colour Matte

Once I had that done and all my layers rendered, I then began to composite it together in Nuke, adding in things such as Flares, Godrays etc.

And this was the result:

5B_Tryout_173.png

One thing that stands out to me straight away is the light on top of the canopy is far to bright and also, the scene looks very ‘bare’.  It kind of looks empty, so we might have to think about adding in some extra 3D things to buff the scene up more.

7A_Owl

Another scene I done was scene 7A, the wide shot on the Owl.  The usual process occured, render layers, rendering, compositing etc.

And this was the final result:

7A_tryout_221.png

However, again I think that the scene looks to bare.  it kind of looks empty, however nowhere near as the previous try out.

Leave a Reply

