Voice Over

The voice over has been a challenge for us. We would really love to get someone famous, however doing that and getting them to do it for no money, is proving to be a lot more difficult than anticipated.

A massive inspiration for us is ‘In the Night Garden’.

Sir Derek Jacobi does the voiceover at the beginning of this and it is exactly what we wanted.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 12.34.35.png

I then found a guy who does impersonations of him, ‘Steve Nallon’.  This is a link to him doing an impression of Derek Jacobi.

http://www.nallon.com/?page_id=76&video=s7lNFqIERak

We emailed him and got a price of £40.  However having listened to his voice over and over again, we have decided against that as it just wasn’t quite right.  It doesn’t really sound like Sir Derek Jacobi.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 12.38.06.png

I then decided to try and be a bit more bold!  This is a list of the names we came up with, well myself and Andrew came up with.

  • Joanna Lumley
  • Stephen Fry
  • Helen Mirren
  • Sir Ian Mc Kellen

The first person I rang was Joanna Lumley and i got through to her agency no problem.

Unfortunately over the next couple of months, she is doing a documentary and therefore would be unavailable to do any other pieces – even one as small as ours.

Next was Stephen Fry.  Again, I know, a long shot.

I got through to his Angency.  This time however they gave me an email address to email, which I done straight away.  I was told that this email address would be sent directly to him, or someone who works closely beside him.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 12.44.35.png

Sir Ian McKellen 

Unfortunately this was simply a no go.  His agency said that he normally doesnt do that kind of stuff 😦

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 12.47.13.png

Helen Mirren

I would love to get Helen and I have sent an email that goes to her fan mail, so I can only hope that she reads it.

 

Aimee however has a couple of people she will be asking to do the voice over so I look forward to seeing what she comes up with.  Also if all else fails, Mike, one of our tutors has said he will do it.  He is an old style animator and for me personally, I love his voice.  It is so calm and relaxing and it could fit out piece perfectly.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

