Changes

So we have gone and started to make the changes to the scenes.

7A

Andrew was the first person to give me his new updated scene.  It is the wide shot of the Owl.  What has to be changed here is

  • Pull Benji closer to camera
  • Decorate more
  • Change the sub-surface.

All of those changes have been made in Maya and then it was passed onto me to start the compositing part.  Andrew done a great job decorating this scene up with all of the books and bunting etc.

There was a lot more layers with this piece than the oreginal so I had a lot more work to do.  One of the first things I done was I began to piece together the characters again, the colour passes etc.

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 17.33.39.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 18.16.32.pngScreen Shot 2016-05-03 at 17.56.35.png

Thankfully Andrew didn’t add in any more flowers or anything, so I was just able to use the flowers from the previous shot.  As you can see from this, the books have worked really well in this shot.  The light is hitting them at the exact point which we want to.  I was going to grade the books etc, but I decided against it as I really liked how they where looking.

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 18.06.54.png

Next was the Bunting.  As I said previous, there was a lot more layers to this shot than what it looked previously.  The bunting was just split up into 4 layers and then I was able to go through each piece of bunting and colour correct/grade them.  They mainly just needed to be brought up in colour.

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 18.10.08.png

I seem to be having an issue where the face is coming through whatever object is placed infront of it, which in this case is the book.  It is annoying, but an easy fix.  I just have to go through frame by frame and reveal the original layer of the book.  Because the book doesn’t really move a lot in this shot, I was able to extend the lifetime of certain root layers.

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 18.19.57.png

And here is our first shot complete, along with the full Nuke Script.  I am really pleased with this shot and if the rest of them turn out like this, I will be very happy!

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 18.26.03.png

11B

The next shot I got was the new close up shot of Dexter.  The feedback we got from this scene was,

  • Change to a new BG
  • Fix the sub_surface

We then had to go through our stock footage and find footage that we liked and we thought would suit this shot.  Thankfully we had a lot of extra footage and we found one that we where able to use.  Because of the angle of the camera and the positing of Benji, we where able to use the same animation from the previous footage.  So this helped speed up time.

I then went to work and began to split the layers up into sections.  The first thing I done was split it up into colour passes.  Because this is a scene with just one character, it was pretty simple to do.

IMG_5525.jpg

You can see from the image below that the scene was split up into layers and this makes it easier for me when it comes to compositing it together in Nuke.

IMG_5526.jpg

Another thing  we didn’t like was the sub-surface on the face.  This really was a case of just playing with the settings of the face.  We got a really nice sub-surface on the face this time because the lighting was a lot nicer this time.  We got a nice dark/redish coming through.

IMG_5527.jpg

So once I had all the layers split up, it was a case of just rendering out the scene.

IMG_5529.jpg

Then I had to take all of my layers and put them into one big EXR file.  Again, it helps me to have control over the layers, working from just 1 EXR file instead of working from a lot of different layers.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 16.31.37.png

So once I had all of my layers together, I had to split up the sections, where I had control over the colours in the face and the body separately.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 16.45.45.png

Once I was happy with the colour’s on Dexter and also the colour’s on the toy box, I then went and started to add in the wee details.  These wee details where things such as the butterflies, mushrooms and bunting and flowers.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 16.54.55.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 17.20.05.png

Every scene I seem to do gets a bigger nuke script.  It really is pushing my skills to the limit but I feel that I am going through them ok.  So this is scene 11B complete with my nuke script.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 17.28.17.png

8B

Aimee then passed me on her first scene which had all the changes done to it based on the feedback.  The changes that where needed for this shot where

  • Dress up the scene
  • Fix the animation on the Bee
  • Add more flowers

So based on the feedback, Aimee went away and began to add loads of flowers to this shot and it turned out really well.

IMG_5558.jpg

You can see from the image above that she went to town with the flowers and plants which is exactly what was asked of her.  Im not sure that she done a lot to the animation, but the animation was pretty simple in this scene, that she didn’t have to do an awful lot to it.

One thing I wanted to do was to split the flowers up into many layers so that I could have control over single parts of the flowers.  So in total, I had 16 flower layers.

IMG_5559.jpg

Once I had all the layers rendered, which didn’t take that long, due to rendering the flowers in software, I then put everything into 1 big EXR file.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 03.46.32.png

I then began to grade/colour correct the face however due to me being happy with the sub-surface on the face, I didn’t have to change a whole load.  I just turned up the red intensity in the face.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 03.55.03.png

Once I was happy with the colouring of the character, the next stage was to begin adding in the extra pieces which Aimee had created to help dress up the shot.  The first thing I done before I added in any flowers, was to add in the flower pots.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 04.05.30.png

Once the flower pots where in position, I then had to go and add in all of the flower layers, and there was a lot of them.

So this is shot 8B complete, along with the nuke script.  I am very happy with this shot as I feel the lighting, the set decor, the sub-surface etc all works really well in this scene.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 04.45.39.png

12A

Lauren then passed me on the first of her 3 scenes to touch up.  This is the biggest live action/CGI shot that we have done, so it was good that I started it early because it took a long time to render and composite.

To set this scene up to render, splitting it all up into different layers took almost 7 hours.  There is a lot of stuff, characters and assets within the scene that needed rendered.  So once Lauren had touched up what she had to change she passed it onto me.  What needed changed in this shot was

  • Animation
  • Sub_Surface

All of this was done pretty quickly over a couple of days.  Once I got the scene the first thing I done was began to split it up into layers within Maya.

Once I had the layers all split up and the textures reapplied to the characters, I then began to play with the sub-surface.   There wasn’t a lot to do with the sub_surface because the actual lighting within the scene didn’t need fixed.

IMG_5543.jpg

As you can see from the scene below there was a lot of characters in this scene, so it was just a long process to make sure that it was done right.

IMG_5557.jpg

Once all of the layers where rendered from maya (which took over 12 hours), I then had to begin piecing it all together.  This is defiantly the biggest scene which I have ever worked on, so this was a challenge.  There was so many elements to this shot.

Due to me creating a colour matte for each object within the scene, I was able to go in and just grade certain elements or certain parts of the characters.  This allowed for far better control.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.07.01.png

Once I was happy with the characters and how they looked, it was a case of going through and adding in all the smaller details, such as root shadow and also adding in the extra assets within the scene.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 13.35.57.png

And this is the final shot with the nuke script.  As you can see, this script was massive compared to the rest of the shots and it really was a challenge.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 12.11.45.png

8A

The next shot that I got was the final Bee shot.  This is the wide of the Bee.  For this scene, there wasn’t a lot that needed to change.  The only feedback was

  • Beni looks like he is sliding
  • Decorate the scene more, fill it full of flowers
  • Make the Bee’s wings flap

Aimee made all of these changes and then passed it onto me and then I had to go and split the scene up into layers.  There was 41 layers of flowers in this scene.  I could have just rendered them all out together, however I wanted to have control over the position, grade and blur of each piece of flower.

13161256_10155345203147925_1490280063_o.jpg

Once all of the layers where rendered out, I then went and added in the colours to the two characters.  Because I had rendered out the colour matte’s separately, I had a lot more control over the characters and I thought that there wasn’t enough red coming through on Benji, so I was able to just go in and add more red coming through Benji’s face.

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 12.33.24.png

I added in the AO next.  This is one of my favourite layers as it gives that extra wee bit of detail in the smaller parts.  Where the cracks are.

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 12.39.04.png

Once I was happy with the how the characters looked in the scene, I then had to add in all the extra assets, such as the flowers, sign and plants.

One of the hardest things about this shot, was making sure that there was that consistency with the previous shot.  I had to have the other shot open so that I was able to make sure that everything matched up and I believe that I managed to do that to the best I possibly could.

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 12.56.40.png

Next up was the part I wasn’t looking forward to…..adding in the flowers, purely just because there was so many! However that was our feedback, to add in a lot more flowers, so it had to be done!

So this is the nuke script for shot 8A.  I am very happy with how this scene has turned out and I believe that it has jumped a lot from what it was previous!

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 15.19.24.png

5B

So the next shot that I began to work on was the opening shot in the forrest.  The feedback we got from this scene was to

  • Add more flowers/mushrooms
  • Fix the sub-surface on the face
  • Swap with shot 5A

Andrew then took this shot away and began to work on it.  Along with shot 12A, this was probably our heaviest shot.

Major Issue

There was a problem with this scene – it wouldn’t match render.  The file seemed to be corrupt.  So what I had to do was go through each layer and render – file – save each frame separately.  This took a long time and I know that it wasn’t the correct way to do it, however I wanted to get that scene done on the day so I just sat for a couple of hours and done it!

Once I had all of the frames rendered, I then took it into nuke and began to comp it together.  The first thing I done was I began to add in all of the colour to the scene.  The character’s body and face mainly.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 16.17.04.png

Once I was happy with how that looked, I then began to add in all of the extra assets.  The mushrooms, and all of the flowers.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 16.40.02.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 16.45.50.png

Once I was happy with how all of the mushrooms where looking (they look like they are floating in mid-air at the moment), however once I add in all of the flowers, it will cover the bottom of them.Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 17.04.09.png

Because we wanted to put more flowers etc in the background, but we hadn’t done that in maya, I then had to duplicate a lot of layers and push them into the background.  Also I had to do some root so that they are going behind the tree’s and the bed itself.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 17.18.24.pngScreen Shot 2016-05-08 at 18.34.10.png

And this is the nuke script finished.  Along with 12A, this was probably my biggest nuke script so far.  That is now 6 shots out of 12 complete, with 2 of them being the biggest shots, so hopefully it won’t be as bad from now on (wishful thinking).

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 18.50.33.png

5A

This shot had to be split up into sections because we cut to 5B in the middle of it.  So instead of this now being one large scene, I had to render 2 separate parts. The feedback from this scene was to fix the

  • Sub_surface on the face
  • Put a cut in it
  • Decorate it more

Andrew then took the shot and decorated it far better and also split it up into 2 sections and animated both parts.

IMG_5566.jpg

An issue I  had with this was to make sure that the sub_surface and the lighting was the exact same in both part 1 and part 2.  Once I was happy with how it all looked and the sub_surface matched up perfectly, then I just had to begin splitting it up into layers.  Here you can see the colour_matte below where I began to split the bed up into certain sections.

IMG_5567.jpg

After that, I then went and brought it into nuke and began to piece it all together.  Remember, this is a 2 part piece so I was having to do this, both render and composite two separate scenes now.

Whenever I added in all of the flowers, one thing I had to keep an eye on was that there was no flowers placed infront of him, that shouldnt be there.  In that case, it was just a case of going through and making sure that flowers layer is placed behind Benji.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 22.27.52.png

 

The flowers where just added in and colour corrected to match the footage and also the rest of the flowers/grass.

I was having a stange issue where the feet where appearing behind the bed and also the quilt.  To help fix this issue, I just had to roto replace from the original renders.  This way I was copying the original image on top of the odler one.

Once I had all of the flowers in, happy with how Benji was looking, I then had to go and add in all of the extra flares etc.  Becuase of the previous scene, the lights are coming from above him to the left, but this is a close up so therefore you wont actually see any sun beams.  You might see the end of them, but it will be very faint.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 16.25.44.pngScreen Shot 2016-05-09 at 17.48.05.png

And this is the nuke script.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 19.06.03.png

7B

The next shot to be finished was the close up of the Owl. This, along with the wide shot of the Owl, is probably my favourite sequence of the piece.  I had to make sure that the sub_surface and everything was exactly right in this shot, so that it matched shot 7A.  Once I had all of the maya lights and the layers complete, I then went and rendered it out and put everything into 1 big EXR file.

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 10.02.45.png

I began then to add in all of the colour to the shot.  It matched really well with my previous shot and I was very happy with how it turned out.Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 09.43.05.png

Because the Owl moves alot in this shot (his bottom half at least), I then had to go and roto out the bottom part of his body and also his left leg so that it looks like he is sitting on the log.  Also because he moves a lot, I had to go through each scene and make sure that it all sits right.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 09.56.42.png

Adding in the book next was an easy enough process because I rendered it out on a seperate layer and then just composited and graded it in.  I just had to go through the frames where is right hand is and roto of the book out so that it looks like his right hand is placed infront.  After that it was just a simple process of adding in all of the set-decor and then just rendering out making sure that it all fitted into place.

And here is the final shot along with my Nuke script.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 11.47.57.png

8B

I do really like this shot.  I belive that the aniamtion is not up to stratch however, but I feel that the set-decor makes this scene and really does add to the scene. This will probbaly be my favoruite framed shot from the entire piece.  Once I was given the scene I then then had to go and add in the colour of the character and also set up the scene to render.

Again, once I had all of the layers rendered, I then made it into the usual EXR file.  Brining back the colour back to the character into the scene, both the face and the body was an easy enough process because the lighting was the exact same as the wide shot.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 03.55.03.png

The hardest part about this shot was adding in all our the extra stuff, such as the flowers and the flower pots.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 04.05.30.png

Thi was a pretty big Nuke script, but that is mainly due the amount of flower layers etc in this scene.  Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 04.26.15.png

And here is the final Nuke script for this scene complete and this is my favourite still frame from the entire piece.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 04.45.39.png

9B

This was one of the hardest scenes to do due to the amount of shaking in this shot.  In the original shot, the jellyfish are placed in the foreground, however they are what show the camera moving so much.  The track on these shots isnt great, so it was best to just remove them from this position.

IMG_5591.jpg

I tried numerous of things to try and get the shot to completely stabilzie, but i wasnt having any luck.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 12.01.40.png

Because this shot moves around a lot, I was having to move my roto around alot also.  Making sure that the roto was following the rock perfectly so that there was no clipping issues.  I also had to do this with the mushroom in the background, but because I put a big enough blur on that part, you dont really notice it all that much.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 13.55.45.png

Making sure that the sub_surface matched up from the previous shot was another thing I ahd to try and fix.  I imported the lights that where being used from the wide shot and I believ that I managed to make them match up well and also the sub_surface looks really nice in it.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 17.26.17.png

And here is the final shot, along with the nuke script.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 15.16.43.png

9A

Next up was 9A and this shot really did annoy me for numbers of reasons.  The feedback we got from this scene was to

  • Make Ollie’s animation funnier
  • Fix the sub_surface on the face

The animation on Benji was loved by all, so thankfully that didnt have to be touched.  I had to make sure that the lighint matched up from from 9B and also the lighting on the faces of Ollie mainly.  I imported ollie’s lights from shot 9B into this new 9A and it matched up well enough.  I was able to match them up to where myself and the team was happy with them.

IMG_5601.jpg

I then had to go and add in the characters simple masterbeauty layer, before I began to add in any colour or anything.   In the image below, the character’s face’s seem very bright, that was before I had graded the face and also before I had added in any flares or anything.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 02.42.52.png

One thing that was noted was that there was no reflection on the water of the surfboard, but because the surfboard doenst not move, this was pretty easy to fix.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 02.46.05.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 16.27.48.png

The same problem with this shot was happening with the next shot, there is a lot of shake on the camera and this was annoying me.  It wasnt noted in the feedback meeting, but it has been annoying me perfonally.  I managed to get it steady enough using numerous of tracking nodes.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 16.12.05.png

Because I ahd moved the starfish in the previous shot, I had to also move them in this shot.  I belive that the positioning of the starfish in this shot isnt as good as it was previous, but it is a minor issue, which by ,ving them, fixed a far larger issue.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 16.27.56.png

Here is the final nuke script for this shot.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 08.37.47.png

10A

We have had a lot of issues with the shot.  I dont like ths ground in this scene because it is leaves and therefore if a character is moving on leaves then the leaves should be interacting.  Aimee sent over the scene I began to set up the scene for redering.  She ahd also put a lot of nice flowers in the forgroune, so I have thought that I could duplicate these flowers and move them around in the foreground, which could therefore help cover up his feet, which in turn has helped tosolve one of our major issues with this scene.

Then I set up the EXR once the character’s layers wand the flowers where rendered from Maya.

Addin and duplcating all of the flowers was then done (this image below is before I began to work on the faces) and by doing this with the flowers, it did help to cover up the feet and therefore I was able to cheat this issue.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 05.28.47.png

I then began to add in the colour correcting on the face and also the AO.  I wanted there to be pink coming through on these 2 character’s because the lighting in this shot is very dominate.

Here is the Nuke script for this scene, which I am happy enough with how it turned out, compared to what it was previously.  There is a lot more colour and life to the shot.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 06.50.39.png

11A

The next and final shot of the entire piece which I had to composite together was shot 11A, the wide of Dexter.  I believe that the animation in this shot isn’t the best, especially Benji running to the right of the screen.  Cricky also set the lights up for this scene, so I didn’t have any say on them.

The feedback we got on this shot was to

  • Basically change it all

We had to find some extra footage which we had taken on the day of shooting and see what shot we though would fit perfectly with it. I then had to re-track the shot and then give the maya file off to Cricky so that he was able to start animating it again.  Once the animation was complete, it was then passed onto me to set up the render.  Thankfully I didnt have to touch the lighting, so this saved a lot of time.

I then rendered it out and brought it into Nuke.  The shadows on Benji are something which I really do not like, but we will have to go with it as we are running out of time.

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 08.13.35.png

I then began to add in all of the colour back to the character, including his body and face, for both characters.

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 08.50.03.png

There is grass in this shot, which helps to cover up his feet as his feet weren’t really touching the ground plane, so I was able hide the feet that way, however there was a bit of root involved as they go behind the rock.

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 09.13.51.png

The mushrooms where then added in next along with more grass and also the shadow’s of the characters.

Adding in he defocus into he background was the next objective on my list  This was actually a had shot to do this on as there is a lot happening within the shot, so I just had to go through the scenes and take my time, making sure that there was no big gaps of defocused and focused pieces.

And this is the piece along with my nuke script.

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.45.42.png

And that is the final composite which I will make for this piece.  I wonder what the next project will be…….

 

Leave a Reply

